Bird on the Wire (SOA)


Like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

Like a worm on a hook
Like a knight from an old fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee

And if I have been unkind
I hope that you’ll just let it go by
And if I have been untrue
I hope that you know it was never to you

Like a baby stillborn
Like a beast with his horn
I have torn everyone who’s reached out for me

And if I have been so unkind
I hope that you’ll just let it all go by
And if I have been untrue
I hope that you know it was never to you

But I swear by this song
And by all that I have done wrong
I will make it all up to thee

Like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

I have tried in my own way to be free

 

Leonard Cohen, 1968

 

Τα σχόλια είναι απενεργοποιημένα.